Why you procrastinate even when it feels bad

Ruri Ohama
3 min readNov 27, 2023

--

It’s 6pm and you have tasks to do.

Maybe it’s work or school, chores, or spending time with loved ones.

But you feel overwhelmed.

You have a deadline tomorrow.

You try to start, but get distracted by your phone, social media, or daydreaming.

Time slips away.

You end up doing anything other than what you were supposed to do.

This is procrastination — not just laziness.

Laziness is doing nothing.

When we procrastinate, we engage in activities other than the main task.

It’s feeling overwhelmed by responsibilities and distractions, causing us to postpone important tasks despite knowing the consequences.

But why do we procrastinate even it feels bad, and more importantly, how can we break free from it?

Everyone procrastinates sometimes and there are several reasons behind that. Most common reason why you’re procrastinating is because you’re overwhelmed.

This isn’t just about the volume of tasks, but also about their complexity or emotional weight.

When we’re overwhelmed, it becomes difficult to know where to start, what to do and it leads to procrastination.

Everyone talks about task management but in my opinion,

Energy management > Getting everything done

We don’t get satisfied when we finish everything on our to-do list. We get satisfied when we work on what truly matters.

To make sure we focus on what truly matters, I use the method of daily highlight and Eisenhower matrix.

Every day when I wake up, I open my notion template, Kaizen System, and I set my daily highlight.

Picking a daily highlight for satisfaction helped me break the “someday” cycle.

Not every hour has to be optimized. At the end of the day, the goal is to be happy.

It can be anything like reading a book at a cafe, hanging out with a friend, or going for a silent walk.

But to manage the broader spectrum of tasks and responsibilities, I use the Eisenhower Matrix, because my ADHD brain is so bad at prioritizing.

The Eisenhower Matrix is a way to organize tasks by urgency and importance, so you can effectively prioritize your most important work.

Based on this, we divide all the tasks into 4 quadrants.

We often struggle with prioritization, but I have found a solution by categorizing tasks into the four quadrants using my Kaizen System notion template.

How it looks on my Kaizen template↑

When you struggle to find the right balance and spend too much time in each quadrant of the Eisenhower Matrix, it can lead to feeling burnt out and overwhelmed.

That’s why every single week, during my weekly reflection and feedback time, my Kaizen System automatically tells you, based on the task inputs you’ve done during the week, how much time you’ve spent on each quadrant and what to do.

It automatically syncs all your tasks

ADHD or not, if traditional methods of productivity didn’t work for you, my Kaizen System might work.

It is designed by a person with ADHD, me, who gets you.

When you get the Kaizen System, you will also get access to a community of people who have similar issues and lessons/courses by me that dive deep into ADHD and how to deal with these issues scientifically, along with my personal tips.

Check out the Kaizen System from here :https://kaizen.ohamaruri.com/

It’s a one-time purchase with lifetime access.

We’re currently having a crazy Black Friday sale, so don’t miss out!

The sale will be over in a couple of hours :)

If you want to learn more about procrastination, how to deal with it and the difference between normal procrastination and ADHD procrastination, check this video out:

Have a productive day,

Ruri

--

--

Ruri Ohama

Youtuber with 1M+ subs, trying to manage her chaotic ADHD brain 🧠